Misdemeanor Assault in Arizona
Assault can happen very easily when situations become emotionally charged and you lose control of your physical actions against another person. In Arizona, a misdemeanor charge of assault occurs when:
- You physically injure another person
- You intentionally or knowingly place another person in a position where they can be injured
- You touch another person with the intent to provoke, injure or insult them
Physical injury means causing impairment in someone’s physical condition. This can include a direct act like striking someone, or even an indirect act like pushing someone, which causes them to fall and break a bone. Intentionally causing injury means that you consciously intended to hurt someone, whereas knowingly causing injury means acting recklessly but without conscious intent to cause harm. Acting recklessly includes becoming intoxicated and causing harm due to inebriation (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-105).
Although not as serious as felony assault, misdemeanor assault in Arizona can still negatively affect your life in various ways. This includes being sentenced to jail time, being ordered to pay for restitution, and other lifestyle impediments like restraining orders and probation. This is why if you find yourself facing any type of misdemeanor assault charge, it is essential to consult a competent, aggressive defense attorney who will vehemently protect your legal rights.
Let’s take a look at how Arizona treats the three misdemeanor assault classes…
Class I Misdemeanor Assault
In Arizona, intentionally or knowingly causing physical injury to another person is grounds for a class 1 misdemeanor assault charge. As a class 1 misdemeanor, punishment includes up to 6 months in jail and $2500 in fines (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-1203).
Class 2 Misdemeanor Assault
In Arizona, recklessly causing physical injury to another person, or intentionally placing another person in imminent physical danger is grounds for a class 2 misdemeanor assault charge. As a class 2 misdemeanor, punishment includes up to 4 months in jail and $750 in fines (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-1203).
Class 3 Misdemeanor Assault
In Arizona, you can be charged with a class 3 misdemeanor simply by pushing someone with the intent to provoke them into starting a fight. You can also be charged by touching them indirectly through the use of an object, like pouring a beverage on them. As a class 3 misdemeanor, punishment includes up to 30 days in jail and $500 in fines (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-1203).
Misdemeanor Assault Considerations
It is very important to understand that misdemeanor assault charges can even be filed against you if you place someone in a state of fear for their safety without actually touching him or her directly or indirectly.
Also, if you have already been convicted of a prior misdemeanor, your current misdemeanor assault charge can be elevated to a higher class based on your legal history.
Furthermore, in addition to jail sentences and the initial fines levied, being found guilty of a misdemeanor assault charge can result in:
- Ongoing probationary restrictions, including reporting to an officer of the court, attending mandatory counseling and maintaining steady employment
- Community service requirements with court-approved organizations or charities
- Reimbursement of incarceration expenses that are expected to be paid by you to whatever political subdivision is responsible for accommodating your jail stay
Trust Phoenix Criminal Attorney With Your Misdemeanor Defense in Arizona
Phoenix Criminal Attorney provides our clients with focused legal assistance for all misdemeanor assault charges. We will not stop fighting for your rights by making sure that every possible legal option and defense strategy is available to you. If you have been charged with any class of misdemeanor assault offense in Arizona, contact us today for a private, no obligation consultation at 602-551-8092.