602-551-8092


AWARD WINNING PHOENIX CRIMINAL ATTORNEY

Felony Criminal Damage in Arizona

In Arizona, felony criminal damage charges are extremely serious matters. A felony criminal damage conviction can irreparably change the course of your life in many ways—including severely limiting your job prospects, and losing the ability to own or operate a firearm  prohibited possessor.

Being accused of, or charged with felony criminal damage in Arizona can be a very stressful and frightening experience. And without a competent attorney aggressively fighting for your legal rights, it can also result in a long-term prison sentence and hefty fines you will be ordered to pay. Therefore, it is extremely important to consult a defense attorney you can count on the moment you find yourself facing felony criminal damage accusations or charges.

Classes of Felony Criminal Damage Charges

There are four classes of presumptive (or standard) felony criminal damage charges in Arizona (ARS 13-1602):

  • Class 6 Felony Criminal Damage Charge- You will face a class 6 felony criminal damage charge in Arizona if you damage public or private property valued at $1,000 but less than $2,000. If you are found guilty, you can face up to 2 years in prison and fines of up to $150,000 plus surcharges.

  • Class 5 Felony Criminal Damage Charge- You will face a class 5 felony criminal damage charge in Arizona if you damage public or private property valued at $2,000 but less than $10,000. If you are found guilty, you can face up to 2.5 years in prison and fines of up to $150,000 plus surcharges.

  • Class 4 Felony Criminal Damage Charge- You will face a class 4 felony criminal damage charge in Arizona if you damage public or private property valued at more than $10,000. If you are found guilty, you can face up to 3.75 years in prison and fines of up to $150,000 plus surcharges. 

Aggravated Criminal Damage Felony Charges

If a felony criminal damage charge has aggravated circumstances attached, you can be facing much harsher penalties than the ones mandated for presumptive criminal damage charges (ARS 13-1604). For example, if you deface or damage a school, cemetery, or place of worship, you will receive:

  •  A mandatory minimum class 6 felony charge resulting in up to 2 years in prison for damage totaling less than $1500. You will also face fines of up to $150,000 plus surcharges.

  • A class 5 felony charge resulting in up to 2.5 years in prison for damage totaling between $1500 and $10,000. You will also face fines of up to $150,000 plus surcharges.

  • A class 4 felony charge resulting in up to 3.75 years in prison for damage in excess of $10,000.  You will also face fines of up to $150,000 plus surcharges. 

If you deface or damage a construction site, a utility location, or agricultural infrastructure, you will receive:

  • A mandatory minimum class 5 felony charge regardless of the damage up to $1500. You will face a prison sentence of up to 2.5 years and fines of up to $150,000 plus surcharges.

  • A class 4 felony charge if the damage is between $1500 and $10,000. You will face a prison sentence of up to 3.75 years and fines of up to $150,000 plus surcharges.

  • A class 3 felony charge if the damage exceeds $10,000. You will face a prison sentence of up to 8.75 years and fines of up to $150,000 plus surcharges. 

Felony Criminal Damage Arson Penalties

Arson is dealt with especially harshly in Arizona. Even reckless burning that leads to the unintentional damage of property or a structure is a class 1 misdemeanor CD MISD. However, if you intentionally or knowingly commit arson on a property in Arizona (ARS 13-1703):

  • You will face a minimum class 5 felony charge for damage between $100 but not more than $1000. If you are found guilty, you will face up to 2.5 years in prison and fines of up to $150,000 plus surcharges.

  • You will face a class 4 felony charge for damage in excess of $1000. If you are found guilty, you will face up to 3.75 years in prison and fines of up to $150,000 plus surcharges. 

Furthermore, if you intentionally or knowingly commit arson on an occupied structure directly, you will be charged with a mandatory class 2 felony (ARS 13-1704). This is punishable by fines of up to $150,000 and a prison sentence of up to 12.5 years. In addition, should any occupant end up injured or worse, you will also face whatever corresponding charges apply, up to and including first-degree murder (link to homicide main page).

Phoenix Criminal Attorney Defends You Against Felony Criminal Damage Charges in Arizona

Because of the serious disruption a felony criminal damage conviction can cause your life, it is essential to hire an attorney with experience defending felony criminal damage cases. Phoenix Criminal Attorney provides our clients with focused legal assistance for every kind of felony criminal damage charge, no matter how severe. We will not stop fighting for your rights by making sure that every possible legal option and defense strategy is available to you. If you are facing any kind of felony criminal damage charge in Arizona, contact us today for a private, no obligation consultation at 602-551-8092.

Get Expert
Help Now

DUI Attorney Review